Madame du Pompadour’s Jewelry

IMG_7054.JPGMdP’s earrings are DONE and the only thing left on her necklace is adding a chain at the back for adjustment.  (I do not have said chain yet.)  It was a long hunt for some of these components, and some of them still aren’t spot on, but I think this is damn good. The actual assembly was just three sessions in front of the TV, each about 1-2 hours.

I haven’t addressed MdP’s bracelets or rings.  She has two rings and two bracelets.  I have one cocktail ring that I think will work and I am considering buying a cheap coordinating one.  The bracelets… they look like they are vintage-y art deco type things.  I have two problems on the bracelets: (1) I feel like they will get caught on the flounces and be super annoying and (2) I have a cuff on my right wrist that is not removable.  So, I will keep you posted about the bracelets… I think I am just going to ignore them, is that bad ? they would be covered by the sleeve flounces most of the time anyway…

Next I tackle the stomacher which is… daunting.  I have been working on machine embroidery and getting pretty decent.  But even so, there is some beading on the stomacher which I really really hate.  The elephant in the room with this gown is that it’s not beaded.  The truth of the matter is that my hands simply cannot do it.  I have a nerve problem in my wrists that is triggered by repetitive motion.  It is very similar to carpal tunnel but that disorder refers to a specific foramen in the bone.  For me it is the next foramen over that gives me trouble. But anyway, major digression, sorry, I physically can’t hold out to do a whole bunch of handwork. I have to do some major planning to pull off the stomacher….

Wish me all the luck…

-his

Leave a comment