Sleeve Flounces!

IMG_6973.JPGAren’t they flounce-y!? Well, I’m actually sort of disappointed with them. But, I carry on. Sometimes you just have to say “okay, how can I finish this and move on with my life.”

OVERFLOUNCE:

As I mentioned in my last post the over flounce came off of a remnant.  I was really delighted with the motif and price. And after all, it was a larger remnant, 1 3/4 yards.  But the scalloped edge I used ran along only one side. I knew they wouldn’t be as full as hers but, but…but… I guess I had my rose colored glasses on because they are really conical, they aren’t nice and drape-y like hers.

UNDERFLOUNCE:

These, aren’t so bad.  Mom had the idea that they could be cut as circles to reduce bulk at the top. I ended up doing each as a half circle, mostly because the overflounces were coming out so narrow.  I was able to cut them out of a poly chiffon scrap I had on hand.*  The edging isn’t pregathered, I had to do that, but I liked how the dot pattern complimented the dot pattern in the overflounce. Tiny circle skirts that they were, I hung them for a few days before I hemmed them.   They are sort of like petticoats underneath the overflounces but it’s sort of working.  Kind of.  Mostly.  Whatever, it’s DONE.

-his

*The chiffon scrap is from the trim that I manufactured to go down the front of the robe. It can be seen in the photo above. The beaded trim was purchased but I made a gathered backing out of the beige chiffon to set it off.

Leave a comment