Madame du Pompadour’s Stomacher

FullSizeRender.jpg

That’s a fairly demoralizing picture, don’t you think? Look at it. Really sit and look at it and think. Goodness…. Divide and conquer. 

The stomacher is going to be four layers (from the wearer out):

  1. aida (18 count I believe)
  2. beige cotton sateen (this is the base for the robe and underskirt)
  3. polyester lace fabric (that I found for a bargain!)
  4. sheer layer on top (this is the sheer that is on the robe)

And then the whole thing will be backed with another layer of cotton sateen, seams trimmed, corners clipped, turned to the right side and carefully pressed, etc.

 

(WordPress seems anti video or vine… but you can find a Tumblr video showing the layers here, complete with cute sleeping cat.)

Embroidery is going to be done on the machine, I finished the layout for the embroidery tonight:

IMG_7078.JPG

Pretty happy with it. It is not exactly, precisely her embroidery pattern but since my stomacher is actually narrower than hers this was a good compromise to capture the motif. The location of the brooches is also depicted on the layout.

I have been practicing super efficient beading techniques, using the aida as a grid in back, as well as machine embroidery. The beading is relatively easy on my delicate wrists (see previous post about my repetitive motion wrist issues). Anyway, a pic of my little practice scrap is pictured below (you can ignore the heavier bugle type seed beads, that didn’t work.) IMG_7063-1.JPG So this weekend… away I go, again, into the great unknown. My expedition will be documented. Gulp.

-his

Leave a comment